Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > BECOMING INVOLVED > Prison Activism
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Prison Activism What's going on? How to become involved.

Old 08-23-2017, 03:47 PM

Default How can I get involved in prison activism?

I would like to know how to become a Prison Activism I have a degree in criminal justice I my decision to obtain a degree in criminal justice was to help people that have been in the system understand there rights and options they have in the system. So if anyone can let me know how I can become a Prison Activism I would highly appreciate it. Thank you. Mrs Chavez
Sponsored Links
Old 08-23-2017, 04:56 PM

Thanked 1,027 Times in 536 Posts

Research local and national groups already established. Develop a report with your local elected officials and their staff.
Old 08-23-2017, 05:49 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by onedayatatime13 View Post
Research local and national groups already established. Develop a report with your local elected officials and their staff.
Thank you
Old 08-23-2017, 07:07 PM

Thanked 3,966 Times in 2,126 Posts

Good luck I hope you get somewhere and help!! Society needs more people who want to help.
Old 08-23-2017, 09:21 PM
OnparoleinTO

There are lots of ways to do this. As suggested, join one of the many organizations that work on prison justice issues. Become informed on key issues and share that knowledge with your local legislator or her/his staff. Share knowledge with friends and neighbors to help counteract myths about crime and jail. Volunteer to help ex-prisoners readjust. Stay on PTO and help others here as best you can. Write letters to local newspapers. And so on.

Good luck!
The Following User Says Thank You to onparoleinTO For This Useful Post:
GaReform (08-23-2017)
Old 08-23-2017, 09:59 PM

Thank you onparoleinTO
Old 08-23-2017, 10:48 PM

Thanked 1,215 Times in 497 Posts