Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > RESOURCE CENTER > Drug & Alcohol Treatment & Rehabilitation > Drug & Alcohol Testimonies and Success Stories
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Drug & Alcohol Testimonies and Success Stories Information, inspiration, and resources for addiction.

Old 10-08-2014, 09:09 PM

Default He is an addict... want advice

Sorry, I am new to this and never joined a forum in my life. I recently married a man that just went to prison and is a meth addict. He has been in prison for a few months now, he claims he is done using and is clean now and never wants to go back. Yet, also says its so easy to get in there. I love him and plan to be supportive but I dont want to be naive either. However, before his sentencing he was still using and didn't treat me very well... always gone, avoiding me, talking with other women, looking to hookup ect. He claimed it was because of the drugs and now he is glad he is in prison to get clean and wants nothing more than to have a future with me. Any advice?? I am still learning on communicating with him via letters, ect but when I share my fears about us he doesn't want me to say that in a letter.
Sponsored Links
Old 10-08-2014, 09:15 PM
attorney

Thanked 19,683 Times in 7,092 Posts

Look into AlAnon and NarcAnon. Both are groups for loved ones of addicts. the meetings are free, you'll meet people in similar situations, or who've been where you are now, and you'll learn methods for dealing with addiction in a LO.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to yourself For This Useful Post:
Addicted_one (08-06-2016), K6770 (01-08-2017), Quetz (02-27-2015), rrwgirl (10-08-2014)
Old 10-08-2014, 09:31 PM