Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > U.S. REGIONAL FORUMS > KANSAS > Kansas DOC - What You Need to Know
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Notices

Kansas DOC - What You Need to Know Information relating to the Kansas Department of Corrections. Q&A for those new to the system should be posted here.

Old 03-25-2010, 04:10 PM
Craig ♡ Desiree

Default Question about El Dorado CF-RDU

First off, what does RDU even mean?

And secondly, his mom messaged me letting me know to write to him at that address for the next 2-6 weeks?
Does anyone know why it would be for that period of time?
I'm new to the Kansas prison system and everything.
He was at Sedgwick County for 3 months and he's finally been transferred.

"It gets hard but it won't take away my love..."

Craig and Desiree
Always All Ways <3

The Following User Says Thank You to ruinersbabydoll For This Useful Post:
LovingBK4eva (06-10-2010)
Sponsored Links
Old 03-25-2010, 07:47 PM

RDU = Reception and Diagnostic Unit.

At RDU, they'll check for physical or mental health issues, figure out any special program needs (does he need sex-offender treatment? drug/alcohol treatment? to finish his GED? etc.) or security problems (is he a gang member? are there other people in the system he needs to be kept away from? are any of his relatives employed by the department? ...) and determine custody level, projected release date, and so on. They tend to work slow, and of course they may well have to communicate back with the court to pin down details of sentence and so on. Once they figure out a custody level and program plan, then he has to wait for a bed to open up at one of the regular prisons that matches his custody level.

Average time at RDU is about a month, and it has been stretching a little longer because space is very tight right now (several prisons or cellhouses have been shut down), but some people do move through more quickly.