Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > FOR FAMILY & FRIENDS > Raising Children with Parents in Prison
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Raising Children with Parents in Prison For the Parent left behind with children AND for the Children that have a parent inside. Discussion of unique challenges facing this group!

Old 09-25-2007, 04:40 PM

Smile Daughter of Incarcerated Father

I noticed that seem to be a lot of parents with questions about what to do or say to their kids. My father was sentenced to 25-life for murder. This happened when I was a freshman in high school and I'm now 26 years old. If anybody would like to ask me any questions I'm here to answer.

I realize the hardest part of this situation would be when the children are very young, I doubt I'd be able to help there. But if it means anything, I'm actually glad my father went to prison in a way (but after this long I think it's time for him to come out). Since he went in he's stopped drinking, stopped doing drugs, has a relationship with me now (never did before), started working out, attended and graduated from a school program in there to learn a new trade, he has even lost his temper. My dad is a changed man and it took prison to do it. If he would of kept on the path he was headed then he'd be dead now, without a doubt.
Sponsored Links
Old 09-26-2007, 07:18 PM
Yooper Mod on Leave
Donation Award 

tarita, I'm glad your dad has changed for the better and you guys have a relationship now. Sometimes it does take people "hitting their bottom" before they realize they need to change their lifestyle... Good luck and I do hope he's able to come home soon..

Deb

September 10th 2009
Old 09-28-2007, 07:14 PM
hATiN' iS A WEAk EM0Ti0N