Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > U.S. REGIONAL FORUMS > GEORGIA > Georgia Parole, Probation, Work Release & Community Service
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Georgia Parole, Probation, Work Release & Community Service All information & questions relating to parole, probation, work release and community service in Georgia should be posted here.

Old 11-16-2017, 02:37 PM

Default Sentenced 20 years do 10 for robbery: Any possibility of early release?

Hello everyone I’m very new to this! My fiancé has been sentenced to a crime he committed when he was 17 he is now 21 ! He is currently awaiting in county jail to be ship to diagnostics! He is 21 with no prior convictions and he was sentenced 20 years do 10 for robbery ! My question is when will he know if he would have a tpm or would they really allow for him to stay in prison for 10 years ? Any possibility of him getting released sooner
Sponsored Links
Old 11-16-2017, 09:45 PM

Thanked 1,524 Times in 610 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker2016 View Post
Hello everyone I’m very new to this! My fiancé has been sentenced to a crime he committed when he was 17 he is now 21 ! He is currently awaiting in county jail to be ship to diagnostics! He is 21 with no prior convictions and he was sentenced 20 years do 10 for robbery ! My question is when will he know if he would have a tpm or would they really allow for him to stay in prison for 10 years ? Any possibility of him getting released sooner
Once he gets to his permanent location,his counselor can tell him if he's eligible for early release. If he has no priors then he might be eligible depending on his crime. If he is eligible then doing everything he can to earn points will help make that date earlier. That means taking classes offered, staying out of trouble, etc. Here is a link to the DOC guideline to earn points. http://www.dcor.state.ga.us/sites/de...t%202017_0.pdf