Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > U.S. REGIONAL FORUMS > FLORIDA > Florida Legal Information
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Florida Legal Information Topics, Discussions and Information relating to Legal Information specific to Florida. This information is *NOT PROFESSIONAL* and should always be fact-checked!

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2019, 05:43 PM
reg8 reg8 is offline
Registered User

Join Date: May 2019
Location: SW Florida, USA
Posts: 52
Thanks: 56
Thanked 41 Times in 23 Posts
Default DUI Questions

Hey guys, my boyfriend is being charged with DUI with serious bodily injury. My question is regarding the timing and if the way they went about it is normal or not.
At the time of the accident he was cited for 316.081, operating a vehicle on the wrong side of the road and was charged with that. Close to 7 months after the accident they brought the DUI charges against him. The tox report was received 2 months after the accident and the victim statement was acquired 4 months after. Is it normal for them to wait nearly 7 months to charge like that? I also know in some states they can't charge for a DUI if they have to use the previous charge (driving on the wrong side of the road in this case) as their reasonable suspicion of intoxication. Is that the case in Florida? We've secured a lawyer, I'm just curious while we wait on them to review things.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 05-22-2019, 07:06 PM
onedayatatime13 onedayatatime13 is offline
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 3,074
Thanks: 468
Thanked 3,945 Times in 1,852 Posts


If you are arrested on suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI), you will be held in jail for up to eight hours until officers believe you are no longer impaired. Often, you will leave jail with a court date for you first hearing regarding DUI charges. In other situations, however, you may leave jail with no information and wonder whether you will be charged with an offense at all. It’s important to know that authorities have a specific amount of time in which to charge you with a crime, called the “statute of limitations.” Until the statute of limitations for your particular offense is up, you can still receive charges and a summons to court in the mail.

A South Florida woman who is accused of killing an off-duty Fort Lauderdale police officer while driving drunk recently learned how long it can take to be charged. The accident in question happened in August of 2016 and the woman lived and worked as usual for over a year. In October of 2017, however, she was arrested and charged with multiple offenses regarding the accident including DUI manslaughter. Her case is pending.

If you are released from jail without any indication of charges or a court date, do not think think you got off scot-free. The is a good chance you will receive a summons in the mail and you should be prepared. You should discuss any DUI arrest with an experienced Fort Lauderdale DUI defense attorney as soon as possible.

Like any type of legal case, the statutes of limitations for filing a criminal complaint in Florida varies depending on the type of case – specifically, the severity and nature of the crime. For example, the following are some time limits for criminal charges in Florida:

First-degree misdemeanor = Two years
Felonies (other than first-degree) = Three years
First-degree felonies = Four years
Felonies that resulted in the death of another person = No time limit
A DUI charge can be either a misdemeanor or a felony depending on several factors including whether you had prior DUI convictions on your record, whether you caused serious injury, and more. For a first offense, the prosecutor will generally have two years to charge you. In the above-mentioned case, there would have been no statute of limitations because the alleged offense involved a fatal accident.

Even if you are not immediately charged with DUI, your license can still be suspended by the Florida Department of Safety and Motor Vehicles. This administrative license suspension will need to be handled separately from any criminal case and there are strict time limits to fight

Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to onedayatatime13 For This Useful Post:
fbopnomore (05-22-2019), GingerM (05-23-2019), reg8 (05-23-2019)
Old 05-23-2019, 11:32 PM
reg8 reg8 is offline
Registered User

Join Date: May 2019
Location: SW Florida, USA
Posts: 52
Thanks: 56
Thanked 41 Times in 23 Posts

Thank you!! I could have sworn I looked everywhere. I even spent an entire day at work trying to find this info. You're awesome
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to reg8 For This Useful Post:
GingerM (05-24-2019)


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Questions, questions, and more questions ASPC Lewis/Stiner Unit carbonelove21 Arizona General Prison Talk, Introductions & Chit Chat 6 06-18-2016 08:22 PM
questions...questions... questions.....Bradshaw Sate Jail TX brandonsmama Texas Prison and Jail Specific Discussions + Lock Down Status 2 04-19-2009 07:16 PM
Questions?questions?questions? Transfers and Mail diablosangel California Institution for Men (CIM) - Chino 4 04-30-2008 05:17 PM
Questions, questions, questions Re: Juvenile offences and parole mom53 Texas General Prison Talk 5 11-09-2006 07:27 AM
A few Questions - sending books, packages, & time questions Lori_in_Iowa Alabama Prison & Jail Visitation, Phones, Packages & Mail 3 04-16-2006 11:54 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:44 AM.
Copyright © 2001- 2019 Prison Talk Online
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website Design & Custom vBulletin Skins by: Relivo Media
Message Board Statistics