Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > RESOURCE CENTER > Prison & Criminal Legal Help!
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Prison & Criminal Legal Help! Ask questions, get opinions, and find resources on dealing with criminal justice legal issues, appeals, and more..

Old 05-11-2016, 06:34 AM
Donation Award 

Default Medications in Prison

My son was incarcerated yesterday. He has a 15 month sentence to complete. I am new to this prison thing as he is the first person I know that has been incarcerated. My son has epilepsy, and we did everything possible to make the prison aware of the medications he has to take for his seizures. He called me, and said they will not give him one of them. His doctor says he can not be taken off this medicine abruptly. He will have withdrawals that can kill him. Also, without the medication he will have seizures which also can kill him. Does anyone know what I can do about this? Would contacting our state rep help? Please, I am desperate!
Sponsored Links
Old 05-11-2016, 08:20 AM
Site Moderator

PTO Site Moderator Staff Superstar Winner 

Donation Award 

Thanked 16,909 Times in 10,215 Posts

Was a different medication substituted? I couldn't locate the actual PA DOC RX formulary on line, and having it would allow his doctor to tell you if there is an alternate formulary medication that can be safely substituted for the one they took away.

My first step would be to file an inmate grievance, in writing, requesting the resumption of that medication, and asking for a copy of the formulary. Then continue signing up for sick call to discuss it with the medical staff. If they refuse to help, then a contact with a politician might help.

Here's a link to the PA law regarding prison medical care.
http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/03...93/s93.12.html

The Pennsylvania Prison Society in Philadelphia may have other suggestions too.
http://www.prisonsociety.org/