Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > BECOMING INVOLVED > Prison Activism
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Prison Activism What's going on? How to become involved.

Old 05-01-2017, 10:14 PM

Default Doing research on prison conditions...

I don't know much about online prison forums, but I'm really hoping to find some help from this.

I'm looking do some serious research on the poor, inhumane treatment in the American prison system. I'm hoping for any help in the right direction. Perhaps any recommendations on how to find prisoners who would talk to me. Preferably ones who have endured terrible treatment. Everything will stay anonymous.

Back story:
I'm a current law student, and I've done professional research in the past.
I'm the child of two felons, and their stories have been my extreme motivation. I live in New England.
My aim is to publish the stories, secondary research, analysis of prison financial reports (I'm also an MBA), and hopefully also create statistics based on data from research to actually make a case for change.
I know I can't make the change, and perhaps no one will ever read it... But I'm hoping it'll add to the case.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Spacheco11 For This Useful Post:
DanielsWyf (05-02-2017), heberm1 (06-14-2017), mom6868 (10-18-2017)
Sponsored Links
Old 05-01-2017, 10:37 PM
Site Moderator Gone Mad

Staff Superstar Winner PTO Site Moderator 

Thanked 13,840 Times in 5,328 Posts

Advisory for PTO Members Regarding Requests from Journalists & Members of the Media, and Students/Researchers:

PTO welcomes journalists and/or members of the media to learn and educate themselves about prisons, prisoners, and their loved ones, as well as students and researchers doing research on these subjects.