Welcome to the Prison Talk Online Community! Take a Minute and Sign Up Today!

Go Back   Prison Talk > U.S. REGIONAL FORUMS > FEDERAL PRISON SYSTEM > Federal General Prison Talk, Introductions & Chit Chat
Register Entertainment FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Federal General Prison Talk, Introductions & Chit Chat Topics & Discussions relating to the Federal Prison & the Criminal Justice System that do not fit into any other Federal sub-forum category. Please feel free to also introduce yourself to other members in the state and talk about whatever topics come to mind that may not have anything to do with prison.

Old 06-27-2018, 03:58 PM

Lightbulb Need help with writing a Letter of Support for sentencing

Hello everyone ,

This is my first time posting but long time lurking lol

My boyfriend is waiting to get sentenced in close to 3 weeks and his attorney wants me to write a letter of support ....... I am STUCK ! Everytime I start typing I just feel utterly stuck ! Anyone have any tips or pointers? I would really appreciate it !!
Sponsored Links
Old 06-27-2018, 04:38 PM
attorney

Thanked 21,718 Times in 7,590 Posts

hon. Judge xxx,

My name is yyy, I live at zzz. I am (state relationship) and in that capacity, have known (defendant) for aaa amount of time. During that time, I know (defendant) to be a (list a few important qualities that relate to the positive aspects of his character).

(Tell about an anecdote or two that illustrate those positive aspects of his character).

(Talk about his trouble, if you know anything. Talk about the steps he has taken to address the issues in his life that led to his offense. Talk about what you are actively doing to support his attempts to change)

Sincerely,
Yyy

There's a sticky on this topic over in the legal section of PTO.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to yourself For This Useful Post: