North Carolina General Prison Talk, News, Introductions & Chit ChatTopics & Discussions relating to Prison & the Criminal Justice System in North Carolina that do not fit into any other North Carolina sub-forum category. Please feel free to also introduce yourself to other members in the state and talk about whatever topics come to mind that may not have anything to do with prison.
Can time be added to a misdemeanor in North Carolina?
To make the short of it
Son had 10-12 months sentence for a felony.
Before his conviction, he was transferred to another county, had an incident with a guard and got a 30 day (he thought concurrent but it turned consecutive) charge.
His felony time expired and he is now doing is misdemeanor time.
His release was supposed to be next week we got the call today to come pick him up.
I get word today that someone wrote him up because he asked if something could wait until a commercial jokingly. He still got up and did it. He checked that he wanted physical evidence and he wanted staff assistance and a guard demanded he uncheck those and check no. He said he wouldn't those were his rights so he was handcuffed, shackled, strip searched and sent to seg for that.
He said his max was still next week and they said oh no it's in June.
Can they do that?
His time for the felony says expired can they keep adding 30 days? That is what they are essentially telling him.