View Full Version : Phone Calls- How Much Do They Cost?

angeltob
12-08-2004, 08:04 PM
From a memo regarding additional information on prepaid debit account:

It is impossible to determine exactly what a call will cost; as it depends on the location the call starts and ends at & which phone company line is used. However, the following are the maximum charges per call; which can be used for computing purposes.

In Michigan Calls:

$2.95 (initial charge) then 32 1/2 to 84 cents per minute depending on the time (7pm-7am) and service carrier.

Outside of Michigan (inter-State) calls:

$3.99 (initial charge) then 89 cents per minute

LeaAnn
12-09-2004, 06:05 AM
Interesting indeed because I am charged $7.82 regardless if he calls me in the morning or late at night. Where I used to live I got discounts during the evening hours.

Lions Heart
12-09-2004, 07:27 AM
I have not yet been able to talk to my guy on the phone yet. We have comunicated through letters for the past 3 months. I am new to this priosn thing and I want to know how it shows up on a phone bill. I live with people who would not be OK with seeing anything that indicates MDOC on it.

betrayed_4_life
12-09-2004, 08:45 AM
I have not yet been able to talk to my guy on the phone yet. We have comunicated through letters for the past 3 months. I am new to this priosn thing and I want to know how it shows up on a phone bill. I live with people who would not be OK with seeing anything that indicates MDOC on it.

Autumn it shows up under a seperate portion of your bill under "Correctional Billing Services".

Lions Heart
12-09-2004, 01:01 PM
Is there any way around having it show up on my phone bill as correctional billing services?

Arechiga's Grl
12-09-2004, 02:23 PM
Butch's Lady: soory to bug but do you happen to know how a phone call appears on a caller Id or does it vary within prisons or states? Thanks

angeltob
12-09-2004, 02:59 PM