View Full Version : Son Going to Wasco Canteen/Commissary Question

his_mom
09-30-2004, 09:04 AM
Hello All,
I am new to PTO and was delighted to find all of you. My son is currently in Orange County Jail and will be transferred to Wasco soon. I put the maximum amount of $$ on his books here at county jail in hopes that it would follow him to Wasco so that he could purchase necessary items as soon as he got there. My son called last night and said another inmate told him the money will follow him to Wasco, but it takes 3 months or so!! My question is this: Is the above correct? Must I wait for him to arrive at Wasco and send me his inmate # before I can mail a money order? How do the new guys get their commissary/canteen without having to wait for so long?
Thank you very much,
Confused Mom:(

California Sunshine
10-01-2004, 08:23 AM
First off WELCOME to PTO :)
I am not 100% sure about your question but I do tend to think it may take awhile for the $ to follow him.Hopefully someone who knows for sure will be along to answer your question

Valerie
10-01-2004, 09:57 AM

Valerie
10-01-2004, 10:02 AM
Welcome to PTO, I've heard the money gets there within 30 days. There may not be a set period of time but I'm really not sure.I think I would call the jail and try to get an answer.I've also heard of a " fish draw" where they give them a draw againt money on the books.

YankeeGirl
10-01-2004, 10:07 PM
Hello All,