View Full Version : County Jail Conditions/Maricopa County

purpletaz1956
06-09-2004, 09:25 AM
I have had some experiences with the County Jails in Maricopa County and they are disgusting, degrading and dangerous. Times that I have been there, visitation has been stopped for everyone because some visitor had the @#$%& to take in contraband and try and pass it(although I know alot of it gets through) screwing up EVERYONES visit. In County it seems as though the inmates make their own rules....if an inmate doesn't like something that another inmate is doing, "CHIN-CHECK" while the DO's look the other way.....cracked skulls, broken bones..no medical attention for it. Come on people...these inmates have done the crime but they are NOT animals nor should they be allowed to act that way. Just who is in charge there?
Lynn:mad:

Here4you4ever
06-09-2004, 10:09 AM
I spent a year visiting every single Sunday at Madison. I always felt like I was treated like dirt, it was awful and took hours to get a visit. What bothered me the most about how he was treated - and how many of the men there are treated - is that they haven't been convicted of a crime yet. Whatever happened to innocent until proven guilty.

purpletaz1956
06-09-2004, 10:37 AM
Sonds like Joe's jails.....crappy...
At Durango if you don't have the booking #, they give you a # to call and get it..whichi is usually about a 30-60 minute wait for a live person. The DO's don't want to take the chance of being known as a 'nice person'. Not in there job description. My experience with this particular jail has been one of the WORST.
Lines leading down the ramp and out into the street past the fence.....reminds me of seeing farmers hearding cattle into a pen. A small room to sit in to wait for your number to be heard...100+ people in this small room...you can only imagine until you experience it.

babylove
07-23-2004, 01:06 AM