View Full Version : How do I know my cell is registered and add $ - Gurney Texas Prison Unit

jacquiemarie
11-18-2012, 08:39 PM
Hello! So I am completely new at all this, my boyfriend arrived at Gurney Until almost 2 weeks ago. I've got most things figured out, got my jpay account to e-mail him and add money to his books. luckily for us, calls to cell phones have finally been approved so I called the number to register my phone (was on hold 1 hour and 59 minutes!) and was told I qualified for calls and would get an e-mail within 2 days....it has been 5 days now. I don't know what I can do to make find out if I was approved for calls and if so how to add funds to the account. I tired the securus page but gurney unit wasn't on there. I know it will be a bit longer before he can even make calls but I want to make sure I have everything set ahead of time....any advice?

Dutches
11-18-2012, 08:44 PM
One thing to know right of the bat with TDCJ ...that 2 days usually means 10 in their language. I personally haven't signed up my cell but I've heard so many stories already. I know it's hard, but be patient you'll get your email soon I hope!

jacquiemarie
11-18-2012, 08:49 PM
good to know! everything else has been going pretty smoothly, I got mail from him the same week he arrived, he gets all my e-mails and letters and has gotten the money we have sent (although he got there the day same day as commissary did so he's going to have to wait until sometime this week) but I really hope to find out if I will be able to receive calls soon. registering was a drag! the girl said they were not prepared for the amount of calls they were getting so I understand if the process is taking longer than expected, just wish it didn't take THIS long!!

Renee
11-18-2012, 09:50 PM