View Full Version : If CPS shows up, does a parent have to talk to them?

vera31
01-07-2011, 03:00 PM
I have seen several TV court shows over the last few years where CPS has been called on a parent out of spite, as revenge. Just curious: if CPS shows up out of the blue, can they legally force you to let them in your home and talk to them? What should once say or do if that ever happens? Has anyone ever been a victim of false allegations that led to a CPS visit?

Lonzo's Lady..
01-07-2011, 03:27 PM
I have seen several TV court shows over the last few years where CPS has been called on a parent out of spite, as revenge. Just curious: if CPS shows up out of the blue, can they legally force you to let them in your home and talk to them? What should once say or do if that ever happens? Has anyone ever been a victim of false allegations that led to a CPS visit?

I have never had any personal contact with CPS but as an ER Nurse Manager I have been asked inside the exam room of lots of kids that were referred to CPS to check out charges of abuse or neglect. IMO I don't think there is any way to legally avoid them when/if they come to your door b/c basically they are doing a welfare check, right? I am not an attorney and if you need legal advice maybe you should seek one; I'm just saying once a claim is made it is very unlikely it will just fade away 'cause no one answers the door or refuses to let them in :confused:...JMO...Marcia

nimuay
01-07-2011, 03:33 PM
Whether you can avoid them is different from whether you should, I suspect. If they have a report of injury or danger to a child, they have a legal duty to investigate and act. If you hinder that, you can certainly expect further interest from them, and it will have the force of law behind it.

If, on the other hand, there is no substance to the claim, it's definitely best to speak with them and let them speak with the child.