View Full Version : Is a PFA a violation of parole?

GFofabootcamper
11-07-2010, 05:47 PM
If I get a Protection from abuse order on my ex, will it be considered a violation of his parole? We both live in PA. He was verbally & physically abusive to me throughout our 5 yr relationship. He currently lives in a halfway house, yet he has been threatening me & harassing me. I feel my only option is to file for a PFA. However, he tells me that if I do that, then it will be a violation of his parole & he will go back to jail. I want to file for the PFA, but not if it means sending him back to jail. If that were to happen, then he & his family would hold me responsible for him going back. (They are not very rational people).

stevesmom66
11-10-2010, 03:58 AM
I'm not a lawyer but I'm gonna take a chance and say yea, that would probably violate him, maybe you should take one out against the whole family? If that can even be done?

bobble60
11-11-2010, 08:53 PM
Actually, getting the PFA doesn't mean that you've proven anything, so it's not likely to be the basis for a parole violation. Now, the underlying conduct would be, but unless you disclosed to the court that he's on parole, they probably won't connect the dots. Merely receiving service of the PFA doesn't constitute "police contact," so he doesn't have to report it.

All of this is purely technical. In reality, what he's doing is wrong and would be sufficient to violate his parole. So, if the attempts to circumvent a PV should fail, don't lose sight of the real situation.

GFofabootcamper
11-12-2010, 01:32 AM
Actually, getting the PFA doesn't mean that you've proven anything, so it's not likely to be the basis for a parole violation. Now, the underlying conduct would be, but unless you disclosed to the court that he's on parole, they probably won't connect the dots. Merely receiving service of the PFA doesn't constitute "police contact," so he doesn't have to report it.