View Full Version : What could his sentence be?

Heather6310
10-20-2010, 05:57 PM
Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place, this is my first time here and I'm so glad I found it. My husband is in the county jail right now, he's been there since Sept. 1. He's in there for burglary, class b felony, facing 10 yrs. He was drunk and high when he did it, idk if that will make any difference when it comes to sentencing. No weapons involved, no one was home. He's hoping for drug court and/or house arrest. But I honestly think he's just telling me that to keep me going, ya know? Anyways, has anyone else had a loved one in Indiana get convicted of burglary and what was their sentence? Oh, this is his first burglary charge, he's only had a few DUI arrests about 10 yrs ago, no trouble since then. Thanks!

Snowwolf
10-20-2010, 08:00 PM
Welcome to PT. My guy got 6 1/2 years plus 1 year house arrest. "only a few DUIs" isn't something to minimize, if he's been arrested 3 or more times he could be convicted as a habitual offender as well which would carry more time. Good luck to you.

Snowwolf

Cycleman6
10-21-2010, 10:49 AM
I would venture to say that those DUI offenses are likely to bite him in the butt a bit especially if he was drunk when the latest incident happened. It just looks like he never learned his lesson before. The waiting is probably the toughest thing you will go through. A plea will probably come through and that will give you a better idea of what to expect before sentencing.

Heather6310
10-21-2010, 01:50 PM
Thank you both for replying. The waiting and not knowing is the worst. Do they start offering plea bargains before his actual court date, or do you know?

Cycleman6
10-22-2010, 05:59 AM
Man, it's been a while, but I remember going into court 2 times. I think he signed the plea and then went before the judge to plead. He plead guilty and we were outta there. We then came back for sentencing a few months later.

KMK'sMom
01-29-2011, 02:19 PM