View Full Version : Info on Halfway Houses in Kentucky

reneebaxte197
08-13-2010, 02:23 PM
Ok, so I'm new to PTO, and have a few questions I need answered. I searched this website for about three hours last night trying to find out what I need to know. I found some very useful information from some very informed people but still had some questions. My husband, T, is currently in a minimum security prison. He works outside everyday. I talked to him yesterday. He had been to see his caseworker. She told him he was eligible to go to a halfway house (he's just a year and a couple weeks from the board). I have no experience or knowledge about Kentucky halfway houses. He thinks he may go to the one in Covington, but we are not sure. Can anyone give me some information about the process to actually going to a halfway house? Who makes the decision? Does the halfway house choose who they want, etc? Do they get furloughs? Does it usually mean they will make parole if they go to a halfway house and do well? A friend of mine also told me that usually when they go to a halfway house they are home within six month, is this true? I know he has a year to the board but can this time be shorter for any reason or will they wait six more months to move him? I hope someone can answer some of these questions for me. I'm also sorry to bombard everyone with so many questions at once but I would like to know more about halfway houses. I looked up their websites but didn't feel like there was much information there or on Kentucky DOC page about them. Is it hard to get transferred to one? Please help!

patchouli
08-13-2010, 04:29 PM