View Full Version : Can A Parolee Live With Me If I Am On Housing Assistance?

vissy53
08-08-2010, 02:37 PM
I am a mother of a son who will be release soon with no where to go. I am on housing. there is no other family. I am so worried that it is affecting my health(heart) This is my first time on a forum, i live in the modesto ca area,can someone please!!! help me.

Madhatter
08-08-2010, 05:28 PM
I am a mother of a son who will be release soon with no where to go. I am on housing. there is no other family. I am so worried that it is affecting my health(heart) This is my first time on a forum, i live in the modesto ca area,can someone please!!! help me.

Hi & welcome to PTO.

From your post I'm not sure if you are saying you can give him lodging? Or are you wanting to know about half way houses, etc.?

He will be sent back to the county he lived in when arrested. If he is a sex offender - the rules about where he can live are pretty strict.

Give us some more info and we will do all we can to help.

sidewalker
08-09-2010, 06:34 AM
welcome to pto. I hope you could provide a bit more info so we can better assist you or at least give you an idea or two.

sorry about the health issues. its hard enough, but add a loved on in prison......ug. Makes things even harder.

2sleepy
08-09-2010, 04:23 PM
If he can't live with you, then he's pretty much on his own. He can ask the parole office about homeless shelters or half-way houses, but there really aren't any resources that provide for long term housing for parolees

noboundries
08-09-2010, 11:23 PM
if he's paroling to Orange County, the Salvation Army Hospitality house shelter men/women/small families for 7 uninterrupted nights. Talk with the housing guy there. They have a work program. If your sons accepted he can stay there for at lease 30 days...(longer depending on his progress).