View Full Version : Confused about Length of Sentence and Actual Time Served

Paisley23
11-23-2009, 02:27 PM
Hi, I'm new to the NJ board. My son is currently in Cape May County jail and was sentenced last week to a 3 flat. I assume he'll now be sent to CRAF.

In reading many of the posts here, I notice that many do not serve out the sentence.

Can someone give me some idea of the range of time actually served for a sentence of 3 flat for a non-violent crime?

Also, how long does it take before he's moved to CRAF and how long does an inmate usually spend at CRAF for classification?

Thanks,

Paisley

bean123
11-23-2009, 03:22 PM
you serve roughly 9 months for every year sentenced. he should max out after about 27 months.

ForMyBoy
11-23-2009, 03:46 PM
A lot depends on his custody status credits, work credits, jail credits. He wouldn't do 3 years. Everybody gets good time taken right at the beginning that can only be lost if he gets into trouble.

Yes, he'll go to CRAF to be classified and assigned his home prison. There's really no way to tell how long he'll be in county, it depends alot on how much room there is available at CRAF. Again it's hard to say how long he'll be at CRAF, it depends on his assigned prison and if they have room.
There are alot of unknowns here. All you can really do is take it day by day.

Hopefully soon. The sooner he gets classified, the sooner he'll start the process home.

Welcome. My son was in the system and got out in July after doing 22 months of a 3 flat.

Paisley23
11-23-2009, 04:15 PM
Thank you for your responses.

We're, of course, hoping he doesn't have to max out. So, my next question is what would be the least amount of time he might have to serve on a 3 flat?

BarciaBrady
11-23-2009, 04:55 PM
I think it depends on the charges. Mine was only at county 2 weeks and then at CRAF 8 days. I hope your son gets right out of CRAF. Is it an offense that he can be eligible for ISP?

Paisley23
11-23-2009, 05:18 PM