View Full Version : WWYD? - He Owes His Dealers

BKBS
04-25-2009, 12:17 AM
Hi everyone.

My boyfriend was locked up in jail for a month for a white collar crime that he was using to feed his drug addiction, which I was unaware of previously. He made bail and is now out. While in jail, he saw the light and realized how much of a fool he had been, ruining his own life and damaging his relationships with those who love him. Since then, he has been working hard to rehabilitate himself, and folllow the straight and narrow path. He now has a complete aversion to drugs and that lifestyle. Nonetheless, he owes four dealers a total of somewhere between $2,000 - $3,000. They tracked him down today and threatened his life, of course, if he does not pay them by the next time he sees them. They broke his phone and took a couple $100 that he had on him.

My question is, what would you do? I am a professional, and technically have the money saved to give him (he did not ask me for it.) However, I have issues with money, partly because I lent him a lot money in the past before he went in, which I obviously never saw again because he was using it for drugs, unbeknowst to me. I thought I was helping him get on his feet after being laid off, etc. Yes, I realize I was an enabler, and hate the part I took in unknowingly contributing to feeding his addiction. FYI - I have been with him for 10 years, and he will not ask me for the money, as he knows that this is a sore spot for us. He has not been able to find a job as of yet, and therefore, his only source of income is the cash money he makes doing side jobs in his field. I do not WANT to lend him the money, and I hate to think of my very hard-earned money going to pay for a drug debt, but I worry about something happening to him. Would I actually be doing wrong by him to give him the money? Has anyone been in a similar situation? What should I do?

LeBeau
04-25-2009, 09:23 AM