View Full Version : total newbie - lots of basic questions (LA COUNTY)

halebop
04-06-2009, 11:44 AM
My hubby was sentenced to 180 days in County (no prison) for possession (failed attempt at Prop 36). It's his first conviction.

I have all of the most basic questions if anyone has the patience to walk me through....

He surrenders himself in court in June.

From there - will it be awhile before I know where he is?
Is it likely he'll move around a lot the whole time? (weekly, monthly, daily?)

Will I know where to reach him by mail or not for awhile at the beginning?

What are the times he's able to call me? Are there hours they can and can't make calls during? Any tips on avoiding the really expensive collect calls?

He told me it will be harder for him if I visit. Is that common or a really weird response?

When its time for his release - will i be able to tell from the online inmate information system that he's coming home or is that sometimes behind and might not show the real date?

I think I read that I can't really send him anything except letters and already made up care packages. Are those any good or a huge waste of money?

How can I get him money so he can buy stuff himself? Is there a period of time where that can't be done at the beginning?

I just figure I may be less scared if I'm prepared. (like if I know I won't hear from him for awhile at first - I won't panic as much)

Also, are the racial problems in LA County so bad that he may be seriously hurt or even killed if he isn't a violent guy himself? Will he be with serious violent criminals if he's in County the whole time or will he be housed based on the fact that he's only got 1 conviction for possession?

Any tips, wisdom and experience would really really be appreciated.

At first I was so glad to have some time before he goes in June - now I realize how horrible it is to have this hanging over us. (yes, I'm a wimp I guess - but I'm going to do my best not to let him see how scared i am)