View Full Version : What's your opinion?

Tahnzie
06-04-2008, 11:32 AM
I have an issue that bothers me and I've went back and forth for awhile with this and I'm trying to figure out if I'm over reacting.

From the women I'd like to know how they'd feel in the same situation and from the men, especially ex-inmates if they feel the situation is reasonable.

Ted and I have been writing for 2 years and 9 months. We did vaguely know each other when we were teenagers (about 25 years ago) but we never had any type of relationship until we started writing after he'd been in prison for 6 1/2 years.

For the first 2 years and 1 month I received letters.. in the begining sometimes as many as 3 or 4 a week. Then as time went by it went down and averaged about 1 a week for probably about a year and a half.

Last September we were mislead by our attorney and believed that he would be able to have his sentence modified and he'd be coming here on house arrest. I didnt know anything at all about the system and did not realize that this was a VERY slim chance and both of us honestly believed that he'd be home in a matter of a few weeks. Obviously, that did not happen and the prosecutor denied his request for house arrest even with all of the schooling and programs he's completed.

Two weeks after that my mom died. He barely knew her but he said that it was very similar to the situation when his mom died and it brought back a lot of bad memories; not to mention that I'm sure I was less than supportive for a while afterwards... just trying to come to terms with what had happened. (It was VERY unexpected and took me completely by surprise.)

So for the last 8 months I've gotten very few letters.. in fact maybe 3 or 4 letters and 2 or 3 cards. He calls every Sunday and never misses; he tells me he still loves me and the cards are all extremely sweet and he writes loving stuff in them.