View Full Version : Mass Jail/Reside in NH

phillysgrl
03-01-2008, 11:28 AM
My fiance is in a Mass. Jail... 2 yr sentence , eligible for parole after a year. Will he have prolems still being able to get paroled if his residence is in another state? I read up on the Interstate Compact. Does Mass participate? If so, will there be more paperwork, thus red tape and prolong his release? Any suggestions?

takenmomof3
03-02-2008, 05:21 PM
Don't quote me, I'm new at this too, but I"ve asked this question because my man is in another state and I wanted to know if he'd get paroled to me. AS far as I know, they will check out the address he's requesting to be paroled to, if that address suits them then you have to have a travel plan on getting him to you, he will have to have all the paperwork done and ready for the transfer. Yes its a lot of red tape, legal stuff to go through, it might even make it take a little longer.
You might try posting this question in the legal forum for a better answer or in your states forum.

walkintall
03-03-2008, 04:48 AM
while i'm not going to say it's impossible but i don't believe he can. what i've heard of people doing is getting paroled and THEN requesting a transfer out of the state once they are out. even then it's a process. you just can't move to a state, have to prove you have familly there ect. i've never heard of anyone getting paroled directly to another state tho. perhaps you can call ma. legal services? they are free and can offer you some free advice.

ISAAC'S QUEEN
03-04-2008, 05:20 PM
When someone has parole in a state they usually have to remain there. I have a brother in law that has probation in Rhode Island and lives in Ma but he had to get permission prior, but at the same time probation is not the same as parole.

Good luck!

phillysgrl
04-02-2008, 08:15 PM