View Full Version : Violent offender? (Is my son one?)

Kebela1
10-26-2003, 03:47 AM
The courts said what my son did was a violent crime. I always thought of a violent crime as something that someone did intentionally. This is my story and I hate it that my son has to serve 90% of his sentence because they consider it a violent crime. This is my story.....
My name is Barbara and my son is James. We live in Douglasville Ga. I am a nurse. James is in Augusta State Medical Prison. He was just shipped there on August 7th, 2002. James has a Severe Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) from his accident on July 27th, 2002. James, his sister had left the house around 8 in the morning to take his two best friends home. On the way, one of other boys talked James into going to his managers house for a minute. When they got there the manager (a woman in her 30's) gave two of the boys alcohol (these boys were 18 and 16). One being my son. On the way home about an hour later the car hit a pot hole, the car went off the road, down and embankment, hit a drain pipe and went airborn. The car wrapped around a telephone pole and the passenger was killed. Thats why James is in prison now. James was driving. They pulled him out dead also, but brought him back to life. My daughter had retograde amnesia and the other boy had to have surgery on his arm. James spent a month in a coma, then went to Scottish Rite of Atlanta for several weeks. He was in day therapy and was evaluated to go into a nursing home for brain injured people for the rest of his therapy. They arrested him on the day that the evaluation was made. The legal guardian of the boy that was killed and the mother of the boy that had his arm injured (she is the same person) went to court and helped me fight for my son. We come from a hick backward town and of course although my sons only record was a fight when he was 17 with his brother who was 16 (which is a normal thing, I think) was sentenced to 31 years in prison. I am new to this g