View Full Version : Does your violent offender lack empathy?

Marri
07-15-2007, 09:07 AM
Do you find your violent offender has a lack of empathy? I love my man and I can see he hurts over the pain he has caused his family by ending up in prison but he doesn't seem to have any empathy for the people he has physically hurt. His attitude is more like- it was a war zone, I was a soldier, it was crazy and there is no way to justify it.

What do you think?

GHOTI
07-15-2007, 10:12 AM
Very common. Took me decades to learn empathy.

ram63565
07-15-2007, 10:15 AM
while his lack of empathy for those he hurt may be upsetting to you ...he is being honest about his feelings.
he feels bad for the consequences but not for his actions...I'd rather hear the truth then have my guy say something only b/c its what I want to hear.
My husband is similiar to your guy in his statements...he feels rotten for what our family has gone thru but since the police officer (the victim) had no bruise, red mark or tenderness (thats how its written in the report) my husband hasnt mentioned that he feels really upset. he hasnt tried to justify or expain it..it just is what it is I suppose.
Maybe he will in time, maybe not

PattiD1157
07-15-2007, 10:21 AM
Marri, right now that could be the only way he can actually focus on what has happened. Justification, this word has many meanings. I am sure that in time the reality of what has happened will soak in and then there is the possibility of going through many of the steps that one does when they lose a loved one. Although the person wasn't a loved one there is still somewhat of the same steps. It's an acceptance and healing process and as of now he is just going through a justification....it happened because....
Not the "My actions are what caused (said event).

redhaired_dolly
07-15-2007, 06:45 PM