View Full Version : Reception @ RJ Donovan State Prison

ecm
12-04-2006, 12:42 PM
My close friend is going to be going to Donovan in about a month or so. He's a non-violent offender. How long can I expect him to be in reception? What will it be like for him there? Will he be able to recieve letters? I'm new to all this.

theycallmecc
12-04-2006, 02:23 PM
We've been in reception 5 months...and counting.

Jay1
12-04-2006, 02:31 PM
My man was in reception at Donovan for about 8 months. All I know is that they lag it in Donovan well at all prisons for that matter. Good luck!

mytoyheart
12-05-2006, 08:48 PM
They are in reception forever, and the building in the 4 yard was on lock down the WHOLE time, he never got to go out of his cell, only for appointments, (dr., counselor, etc.) and only got showers like 2 or 3 times a week, it pretty much really sucks. Store once a month, they do get mail and visits (usually, but getting approved for a visit can take forever too.) but they are very strict on the mail, no books, no pens, a lot of no's. If he only had a short time to do, he may get out of reception earlier than others, and be sent to a CCF or a camp, which are wayyyyyyy better (as far as places to serve time) than Donovan.

cadustin
12-05-2006, 11:31 PM
My husband was only in reception for about a month. I got approved to visit, he told me on a Monday (had someone call me), I was going to see him the following weekend and he was moved on Wednesday. This was over a year ago now, and I know they have had some major issues there since then.

LongHaul
12-06-2006, 01:51 PM
Yeah - my guy did about 6 weeks in reception nearly 3 years ago. I am hearing NIGHTMARES about how long it is taking now. Reception is worse then county jail. It was bearable when it was 2 months on the outside, but now I hear it going for longer then 6 months in some cases.

Good luck.

Cops wife
12-06-2006, 10:29 PM