View Full Version : "Confinement" at Gulf Annex...

Griegito
11-13-2006, 10:43 AM
Hi everyone. I am new to this... and this is a little scary for me as my loved one is incarcerated in Florida, Gulf Annex and I am far away in New York City. What I would like to know is if anyone here is familiar with what they call "confinement" at Gulf Annex... I have not heard from or received a letter from my friend in over two weeks and this is not normal. I called today and was told that he is in "confinement" for having received a DR for being in an unauthorized place. Needless to say, this is all they would tell me. Now, I am very fearful as I have heard countless horror stories about Florida prisons... Region I in particular... and especially about "confinement"... that it is there where many prisoners are beaten, abused and even killed. Please is there anyone out there who might be able to tell me something... anything... that could help ease my mind?? Are these terrible stories true?? What about Gulf Annex? anyone know how it is there? please, if anyone has a loved one there maybe they know what has happened to my friend... please anyone at all... if u can... please help me. I am very worried and scared for my friend.

Starchild
11-13-2006, 11:15 AM
Hi, I don't know about Gulf Annex but my guy is in Region 1 and has been in confinement many times in many different fl prisons over the 10 yrs he's been down. They can go to confinement for many different reasons, some seemingly so pointless and 'nothing' and for more serious things too. They can lock you up for many things from the wrong hair cut to being in the wrong place - so many things. Sometimes it takes them a while to get paper and stamps together to write as they don't take anything like that with them to confinement. So maybe you could mail him some stamps and paper? That could be why he hasn't written.