View Full Version : Visitation at Kent Institution in BC

Student Writer
02-27-2006, 08:48 PM
Hello!

I'm a journalism student at the University of British Columbia (UBC) in Canada.

I'm working on a class assignment -- a story about vistor safety in local prisons -- and I'd like to talk to anyone who visits Kent Institution on a regular basis.

If you're willing, I'd like to interview you about what it's like to visit someone in Kent, and what you think about visitor safety.... In 1993 a woman was killed by her husband during a conjugal visit at Kent, and in 2003, another woman was stabbed numerous times by her husband during a family visit. For my assignment, I'm looking at whether Kent should increase safety measures, or if these two incidents are just coincedence. I don't know what it's like to visit Kent so it would really help me out if someone could give me the straight goods on visitor safety and visitation at the prison.

I'll be checking this thread, but if you want to e-mail me, (email removed, please pm member to contact)
If you talk to me, we can discuss how you want to be interviewed. My ideal situation would be to get your name and be able to quote you in my story/assignment (on the record), but I realize this is a tough subject, so we can talk about anonymity too.... Don't worry, I won't use names or comments for my assignment unless I expressly have your permission. I'm willing to offer anonymity for honest information to help me sort this out!

Thanks very much!
Glenda (aka Student Writer)

witchlinblue
02-27-2006, 09:32 PM
Advisory for PTO Members Regarding Requests from Journalists or Members of the Media:

PTO welcomes journalists and/or members of the media to learn and educate themselves about prisons, prisoners, and their loved ones.

We will, occasionally, allow the media to request information and personal stories from our members. However, PTO does not endorse any journalist, member of the media, story/report, or media outlet.