View Full Version : Prison Terminology and Slang 101

javagirl
10-06-2005, 08:21 PM
Hi all-

I would like to start a thread for new users that compiles all of the new words, acronyms, and slang prison terms that we are all learning along the way. Hopefully this thread will lead to a de-coding of all the new words and terms people come across when they begin communicating with their loved one that is in the system. I am still kinda new to all this, but I wanna know what a kite is. Can we start with someone explaining that? Please add to this thread all that you know and hopefully it will grow to be a resource for all new members.

-javagirl

venicespirit
10-06-2005, 08:31 PM
A kite is a message sent from one inmate to another. They can be sent within one prison, or from one prison to another.

pdxb
10-08-2005, 10:30 AM
In Oregon a kite is a communication sent by an inmate to request info, med. services, counsler, apply for a job, etc. It is an official form of communication for the inmate. My wife has always refered to communications she recieves from other inmates as a letter. It would be interesting to see how some of these slang terms vary from state to state

Joshswife1980
10-08-2005, 10:37 AM
Correctional Officers are often reffered as "The Man", Turn Keys, or Flashlight Cops.

Snitch, Im sure we all know what this means. To tell on another inmate

CRI, "Confidential Reliable Informant" An inmate who consistently tells the guards what is going on and whos name doesn't have to be placed on an incident report. Instead it is labled as CRI

zoom zooms and wham whams... Little Debbie Snack Cakes

O.C. An inmate is refered to this if he is "Out of Control"

missinmibabe
10-08-2005, 10:47 AM
i dont know much of the slang or what it means..i know fish is how they describe a newbie...but i had a question myself does anyone know what on%75m means?

Vaquera111
10-11-2005, 01:35 AM