View Full Version : money to inmates-How much do they need/should I send?

mlmjmm
09-21-2005, 07:28 PM
How much money do the prisoners usually need? How much can you send at one time? I'm new to all this. My ex was just transferred to CRC today. Will he send something saying what he can have? Anything else I should know?

Thanks

JaysgirlSS
09-21-2005, 07:32 PM
I am not sure if you are referring to a federal or state prison.

My boyfriend is in a federal prison. I don't send money directly to him or the prison. There is a seperate address.

If you are looking for info on federal prisons go to BOP.GOV

mlmjmm
09-21-2005, 07:34 PM
CRC is a state prison in Ohio

albmonsters
09-21-2005, 07:35 PM
Welcome to PTO! Only approved visitors can send money and it muts be in the form of money order. Once he gets to his "home" institution, which can take 6-8 weeks, he can add other people to his visitation list. At CRC, it is only immediate family. You must be approved as a visitor before youc an send the money orders.... Hope this helps, if you have other questions let me know

mlmjmm
09-21-2005, 07:40 PM
How do you become an approved visitor? Will I be able to send him anything else, like books, pictures, mail? Is there anyway to find out what can be sent?

albmonsters
09-21-2005, 07:44 PM
you can send him mail, the embossed enveloped (3) per envelope, pictures (3) per envelope, books can be sent but must be sent from the bookstore or from a website. You canot purchase the book and send it on your own. CD's and tapes you can send but they much have the original wrapper.

For the visiting list... he sends you the paperwork.... If you are not married to him currently, you will not be able to visit him. You must wait until he gets to his "home" institution. He will then send you paperwork.

Another thing you should know is calls from CRC will be limited for the first few weeks.. so write him and be patient. Once he gets settled, he will call and all that

mlmjmm