View Full Version : PLease help - Michigan Truth in Sentencing

neverlosefaith
05-07-2003, 06:17 PM
Hi, I am new to pto. My husband has been in prison for 2 months now. I will like to know if anyone has any info on new truth in sentencing changes in Michigan. I would really appreciate any info good or bad. This hole experance is new to me i have never been involved with the system in any way till now. PLease help :confused:

Ken
05-07-2003, 07:02 PM
I am going to move this to the Michigan Forum where it may get more attention.

DENIMBLUE
05-07-2003, 08:43 PM
:) WELCOME TO PTO! I AM STILL LEARNING HOW THIS MI SYSTEM WORKS, TOO. I AM NOT SURE ABOUT THE NEW TRUTH IN SENTENCING YET. I AM SURE THAT SOMEONE ELSE WILL KNOW. THIS IS A GREAT PLACE FOR SUPPORT. :)

deb
05-07-2003, 09:46 PM
I'm also unsure of how it will work and I think they're still ironing it out as we speak. There have been many posts on it and no one seems to know for 100% yet how it will work exactly. I'm glad you joined us!

Deb

deb
05-07-2003, 09:48 PM
By the way....you said you're new to dealing with the system....there are many of us from Michigan that have been dealing with it for a little while anyway so if you have any questions about anything--post away and we'll do our best to share what we've learned....

Deb

StacysWar030
05-08-2003, 08:09 AM
Ok I have also been following all the new laws in Michigan trying to see if any would apply to my honey and this "Truth in Sentencing" is a big one. You can start by checking with The Michigan Legislature. I will give you the link at the bottom. The public act you want is PA 316 of 1998, If you check with that it will show you if it is ammended or not. I hope this helps some.

here's the link:
http://www.michiganlegislature.org/mile.asp?page=w

Good luck
Stacy

StacysWar030
05-08-2003, 08:33 AM