View Full Version : SAFP Programs In Texas Prisons

Cathy1127
07-26-2005, 08:14 PM
Cathy1127Hi: This is my first time posting, so I hope that I am doing it right.
I was wondering if I could find out some information about SAFP Programs around the Texas area. My daughter is in Harris County Jail, three months pregnant and waiting for a SAFP Program. She has been talking to other ladies and they say that you wait so long to get into one. The judge ordered a six month program and then she will have to go to a halfway house for two months after that. It is very hard to find out any information, I was told by someone in authority that she would either go to Waco or Dayton, and that it could be a eight to ten week wait. Thank you for all your help.

Cathy1127;)

jimbo's EX LADY
07-26-2005, 11:00 PM
Substance Abuse Supervision Program (SASP) is targeted for releasees who have not been to an In-Prison Therapeutic Community or Substance Abuse Felony Punishment Facility, but who have substance abuse problems. Once identified by either a positive drug test, Board-imposed Special Condition for substance abuse or through self-admission, the parole officer, using the Substance Abuse Risk Instrument, assesses the offender. The instrument determines three levels of service. Level 1 offenders receive Substance Abuse Education Programming, Level 2 offenders receive Substance Abuse Supervision Programming which includes assessment, group and individual counseling by a Parole Division counselor. All counselors are Licensed Chemical Dependency Counselors (LCDC) housed at District Resource Centers and District Parole Offices throughout the state. Level 3 offenders are referred to local community resources to include outpatient counseling, residential or detoxification.

Cathy1127
07-27-2005, 07:49 AM
Jimbo's Lady: