View Full Version : Questions about Wasco

calichic
05-11-2005, 01:22 AM
:help: OK, hopefully the answer to this isn't posted somewhere and hopefully this isn't supposed to be in another category :hmm: :crosses fingers: OK, so here's my questions: I don't fully get the whole reception center thing. So how long are inmates held at Wasco? Is it strictly a reception place, where they are just eventually sent to another prison? Or are inmates actually held there for however long they're sentenced for? Also, I've read about yards and whatnot but how do you know which one your loved one is in. On his letter to me it said something like H-2-A. What exactly does that mean? I've been reading all the threads since I found this site Friday, but I haven't really found my answer. Oy vey, this stuff is just SO confusing! Or maybe I'm just an airhead?:shrug:

sofiey
05-11-2005, 10:43 AM
not hear of that i know theres a-b-c-d-yard

dojhar
05-11-2005, 10:45 AM
I'm still learning this stuff myself. My father has been at Wasco for 3-4 weeks now. He's on the C yard I believe. Sounds like your guy is on the H yard. I don't know that the yards are different in anyway other than as a means of grouping prisoners into smaller populations. On the visitation voicemail, it describes B, C, D, & H as reception yards. there are some prisoners who end up serving their full sentence at Wasco, but I believe it's just enough minimum-security people to cover the support needs of the prison.

Everyone else is waiting to be assigned to another prison. they're assigned a counselor who gives them a score based on various factors (what the offense is, criminal record, health issues, etc.). That score is used to determine their security level and they are put in line to wait for an opening at that level. I understand this can take 2-3 months.

Check out the "CDC - What You Should Know" thread for more details.

aztkgirl
05-11-2005, 11:19 AM